Islam – Practices and Beliefs

Islam is known as a religion that is often overlooked and sometimes even seen as a somewhat extreme religion. Contrary to the beliefs of many, there is a peaceful side to it as well.

What most people fail to take into consideration, is the fact that all religion should be respected across the world. The same goes for different races, speaking different languages, as well as having different heritages.
When compared to other religions, those who engage in Islam practice and worship are incredibly devotional towards the one they refer to as god, Allah.

Those who believe are thus very religious and above all else, god-conscious. They are also very focused on how they treat others. Their religion also forces them to give back and help those in need, to be able to enjoy the riches of heaven.

The Five Pillars of Islam

Being a Muslim, one must identify the five pillars of Islam as a religion. These pillars are focused on the ritual practices of Islam. It is also taught and practised in Islamic schools.


The five pillars of Islam are based on the fundamentals of the Quran, as well as the Sunnah. It is believed that these two powerful books have defined interpretations by ‘uluma’, which took place in the first few centuries of Islam’s existence.

The five pillars consist of the shahadah, which can be described as the testimony and unity of god, as well as the prophethood of Muhammad. Another pillar is referred to salat, which means canonical prayer, zakat referring to alms, sawm referring to the fast, Ramadan and finally, hajj, which is the pilgrimage to Mecca.
These five pillars make up the foundations of what Muslims believe and follow in their religion.

Practices in Islam

From the fast of Ramadan to canonical prayers, alms and pilgrimage, these are all practices that are shared by Muslims across the globe.

• The canonical prayer – A prayer that is performed individually, often recited as one of the most important verses in the Quran. It can also be performed in a mosque amongst the masses. Fridays are considered prayer days in the mosque, where Muslims come together, to pray together in the afternoon. Worshipping is never limited to a specific time or place.

• Eid – Also known as Eid al-Adha, referring to the celebration of Prophet Abraham’s willingness in sacrificing his lineage for serving god, as well as the culmination of hajj. There are specific dates that are dedicated to the events in the lives of Muslims for fasting.

• Ramadan – Ramadan is a period, depending on the alignment of the moon, which occurs in May and ends in June. It involves 29 to 30 days of fasting, to commemorate the revelation of the Quran, received by Muhammad, according to Islamic beliefs. During this period, all Muslims around the world, fast between sunrise and sunset.

4 thoughts on “Islam – Practices and Beliefs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *